Our Board

The Kent County Road Commission is governed by a five-member County Board of Road Commissioners. The members are appointed to six-year terms by the Kent County Board of Commissioners. The road commissioners represent the entire county, not specific districts.

Kent County Road Commission Board meetings are held at 8 a.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month, unless otherwise announced. Meetings are held at KCRC’s Central Complex, 1500 Scribner Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49504. The Board of Road Commissioners is responsible for approval of the Annual Budget, adoption of policies, acceptance of bids, authorization of expenditures, approval of contracts and agreements, and all other policy matters.

Image of Our Board

Mark Rambo

Mark Rambo was appointed to the Board of the Kent County Road Commission in 2009 and has served as Chairman since 2012. Commissioner Rambo holds a master’s degree in public administration and is currently the Deputy City Administrator for the City of Kentwood. Previously, he has served as the Manager of Operations for Grand Valley State University, the Manager of Howard City and the Engineering Programs Coordinator for the City of Walker. Mark has also served on the Grand Rapids Parking Commission, Grand Rapids Vital Streets Oversight Commission, the GR Forward steering committee, and the Laker Line advisory committee.

Image of Our Board

Cynthia Porter Janes

Cynthia Porter Janes was appointed to the Board of the Kent County Road Commission in 2015 and has served as Vice Chair since January 2017. Commissioner Janes currently works in Architectural & Engineering Business Development at Fishbeck, Thompson, Carr & Huber (FTCH) after being an Education Practice Leader for AECom. Commissioner Janes also serves as a trustee of the Grand Rapids Public Museum and a board member of the Lower Grand River Organization of Watersheds (LGROW) - an agency of the Grand Valley Metropolitan Council (GVMC). Previously, Commissioner Janes served six years on the GVMC board (five years on the Executive Committee); five years on the Cascade Township Planning Commission (including one year as chair); seven years as township trustee, elected to the Cascade Township Board; and nine years on the Board of Directors for the Cascade Community Foundation.

Image of Our Board

Patrick G. Malone

Patrick G. Malone was appointed to the Board of the Kent County Road Commission in 2007 and served as Vice Chairman in 2008 and 2009. Commissioner Malone is the retired Chief of Security for General Motors West Michigan Facilities. Previously, Commissioner Malone served on the Kent County Board of Commissioners and was Supervisor of the Grattan Township Board. Above his own career, Commissioner Malone is proudest of the accomplishments of his late wife, Joan, and those of his five children.

Image of Our Board

Dave Medema

Dave Medema was appointed to the Board of the Kent County Road Commission in 2017. Commissioner Medema is the owner of Medema Consulting Associates LLC, which was established in 1999, and has served as Board Member of the Michigan League for Public Policy. Commissioner Medema has also been a member of the City of Grand Rapids Community Relations Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals and Community Development Citizens Committee. Commissioner Medema is a graduate of Calvin College, has a Master of Social Work degree from Arizona State University and studied at New Brunswick Theological Seminary. He is a certified coach and trainer for the Right Use of Power Institute in Boulder, Colorado. An avid bicyclist, Commissioner Medema proudly completed a ride from San Francisco, California, to Grand Rapids in 2011.

Image of Our Board

David J. Morren

David J. Morren was appointed to the Board of the Kent County Road Commission in 2014. Previously, Commissioner Morren served on Kent County Board of Commissioners for 14 years, serving three years as Chairman and sitting on various public boards during his tenure. Commissioner Morren is the owner of Insignia Homes and has served as elder and deacon of his church.


Sign up for KCRC News