Dave Medema Appointed to KCRC Board

Dave Medema Appointed to KCRC Board

Press Releases

The Kent County Road Commission (KCRC) welcomed new road commissioner Dave Medema at the organization’s board meeting on Tuesday, January 10. Commissioner Medema was appointed to KCRC’s board on January 3 by the Kent County Board of Commissioners to serve a six-year term.

“Having a high quality transportation network is vital to a healthy economy and the prosperity of a community,” said Commissioner Medema.  “We need a strong commission that advocates for the funding necessary to support this kind of network, and I am committed to assisting with this effort – both locally and in Lansing.” 

Commissioner Medema is the owner of Medema Consulting Associates LLC, which was established in 1999, and has served as board member of the Michigan League for Public Policy.  He has also been a member of the City of Grand Rapids Community Relations Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals and Community Development Citizens Committee. Commissioner Medema is a graduate of Calvin College, has a Master of Social Work degree from Arizona State University and studied at New Brunswick Theological Seminary.  He is a certified coach and trainer for the Right Use of Power Institute in Boulder, Colorado. An avid bicyclist, Commissioner Medema proudly completed a ride from San Francisco, California, to Grand Rapids in 2011.

“Dave’s professional experience with executive coaching, strategic planning, and governance will serve the county well,” said Mark Rambo, KCRC’s board chair. “He is passionate about improving our transportation network, and we are excited to have him join the team.”

Commissioner Medema was appointed to replace former KCRC road commissioner David Groenleer, who retired from the board in December 2016 after serving since 2007.

At the meeting, Mark Rambo was re-elected by the board to continue serving as chair, a position he has held since 2012. Cynthia Porter Janes, who was appointed to the Board in 2015, was elected Vice Chair, a position previously held by Mr. Groenleer.

Road commissioners are appointed to six-year terms by the Kent County Board of Commissioners. Each road commissioner represents the entire county rather than a specific district.